High School Football National Championship

American football is by far the most popular sport in the United States. There are a lot of football tournaments all around the calendar.

High School Football is also top-rated among the audience. There are many High school championships as well. However, the High School Football National Championship is the most prestigious of them all. It is the top achievement for a football team.

The national championship has a long history. From 1897, every year, the championship was given to honor the outstanding performance of a team in the USA. The best team is determined based on the ranking of USA Today and the National Prep Poll.

High School Football National Championship History

The first-ever High School National Championship was given in the year 1897. Madison High School won the first-ever national championship. Since then, a good number of schools have won the championship.

In 1927 Art Johlfs, a coach with 21 years of experience, began rating the best teams in the country. The rating system became more formal in 1959 when Johlfs enlarged his network with more hobbyists. Art Johlfs was in charge of doing these ratings till 1978.

Over the years, there have been some efforts to organize playoffs between state champions, but it is not done yet due to several issues. Often, a state champion defeats their neighboring state champion and makes a self-proclamation of being the state champion.

High School Football National Championship Winners

The inauguration of the High School Football National Championship dates back to 1897, and since then, a team has won the championship almost every year. Here we have listed the teams who have won more than once.

SchoolStateTotal ChampionshipYear
Massillon Washington High SchoolOhio91935, ’36, ’39, 1940, ’50, ’52, ’53, ’59, 1961
De La SalleCalifornia121994, ’98, ’99, 2000, ’01, ’02, ’03, ’07, 2010, ’12, ’14, ’15 
Mater Dei High School California61994, ’96, 2017, ’18, 2020, ’21
Valdosta High SchoolGeorgia61962, ’69, 1971, 1984, ’86, 1992
Miami Senior High SchoolFlorida51942, ’43, 1960, ’62, 1995
Moeller High SchoolOhio51976, ’77, ’79, 1980, 1992
Oak Park and River Forest High SchoolIllinois51910, ’11, ’12, ’13, 1920
Saint Ignatius High School Ohio41989, 1993, ’95, 2008
Coral Gables Senior High SchoolFlorida 41964, ’67, ’68, ’69
Scott High SchoolOhio41916, ’19, 1922, ’23
Allen High SchoolTexas 32012, ’13, ’14
Northeast Early College High SchoolTexas31967, ’68, 1970
Berwick Area Senior High SchoolPennsylvania31983, 1992, ’95
Southern Columbia Area High SchoolPennsylvania32018, ’19, 2020
Bishop Gorman High SchoolNevada32014, ’15, ’16
Don Bosco Preparatory High SchoolNew Jersey32009, 2010, ’11
Carroll Senior High SchoolTexas32004, ’05, ’06
St. Thomas Aquinas High SchoolFlorida 22008, ’10
Abilene High SchoolTexas21956, 2009
St. John Bosco High SchoolCalifornia22013, ’19
McKinley Senior High SchoolOhio21934, 1997
Englewood High SchoolIllinois 21908, 09
Saint Xavier High SchoolOhio 22005, ’07
Central High SchoolMichigan21904, 1915
Everett High SchoolMassachusetts21914, ’15
Everett High School Washington21919, 1920
Hampton High SchoolVirginia21996, ’97
Harrisburg Technical High SchoolPennsylvania21918, ’19
Trinity ChristianFlorida 22014, ’15
Katy High SchoolTexas 22012, ’15
Lakeland Senior High School Florida 22005, ’06
Little Rock Central High School Arkansas21946, 1957
Miami Northwestern Senior High SchoolFlorida 22007, 2019
Permian High SchoolTexas21972, 1989
Pine Bluff High SchoolArkansas21925, 1939
Thomas Jefferson High SchoolOregon21957, ’58
Waco High School Texas21927, 1948
Warner Robins High SchoolGeorgia21976, 1981
West Monroe High SchoolLouisiana21998, 2000
Wichita Falls High School Texas21949, 1958

Quick Stats

  • De La Salle High School leads the High School National Championship list with 12 wins.
  • Texas holds the record for the most championship wins as a state, with 19 titles.
  • 15 different schools from Texas have won the National High School Championship.
  • De La Salle High School also holds the record for most consecutive wins (6) from 1998 to 2003.
  • Bob Ladouceur, with 10 titles, is the most successful coach.
  • Madison High School won the first national championship in 1897. The school has not won it again since.


The High School National Championship is the major title for high School Football. Despite some shortcomings in determining the champion, it gives a school nationwide fame. Winning the national championship over thousands of schools is surely a big accomplishment.

Golam Muktadir is a passionate sports fan and a dedicated movie buff. He has been writing about both topics for over a decade and has a wealth of knowledge and experience to share with his readers. Muktadir has a degree in journalism and has written for several well-known publications, including Surprise Sports.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here